Global Change 1 Fall 2014 Schedule
Week Date Day Topic Instructor
1 3-Sep Wed Introduction and Goals.  All
  5-Sep Fri Roadmap: The Scientific Method.  Lecture Tools Setup Kling
NO Lab 4-6 Sep   NO LAB  
2 8-Sep Mon The Big Bang and Fundamental Laws Gleason
  10-Sep Wed The Evolution of our Solar System Gleason
  12-Sep Fri The Age and Evolution of Earth Gleason
Lab - Disc 8-12 Sep   "Challenges We Face" -  Discussion and Intro to Term Presentations  
3 15-Sep Mon Planetary Energy Balance Gleason
  17-Sep Wed Plate Tectonics Gleason
  19-Sep Fri Earth's Climate in Deep Time Gleason
Lab 15-19 Sep   Earth's Energy Balance Model  
4 22-Sep Mon The Frozen Planet Gleason
  24-Sep Wed Greenhouse Gases and Climate Gleason
  26-Sep Fri Aerosols, Land-use Change, and Climate Gleason
Lab 22-26 Sep   Introduction to Stella - Daisy World  
5 29-Sep Mon Climate Change and the Ice Ages Kling
  1-Oct Wed The Blue Planet: El Nino, the Ocean Conveyor Belt, and Climate Change Kling
  3-Oct Fri Climate Models and Predictions for the Future Kling
Lab 29 Sep-3 Oct   Ice Ages -- Analysis of Vostok Ice Core Data  
6 6-Oct Mon HOURLY EXAM #1 (material through 3 Oct) Gleason/Kling

 

 

8-Oct Wed The Fossil Record of Lineages and Ecosystems Nadelhoffer
  10-Oct Fri Processes of Evolution:  Natural Selection Nadelhoffer
Lab 6-10 Oct   Natural Selection - The Case of the Peppered Moth   
7 13-Oct Mon Fall Study Break (No Class)  
  15-Oct Wed Processes of Evolution:  Speciation Nadelhoffer
  17-Oct Fri Evidence for Evolution in Today's World Nadelhoffer
Lab-home 13-17 Oct   Fall Break, No Labs Meet -- Science and the Media (Take home assignment)  
8 20-Oct Mon Ecological Communities: Networks of Interacting Species Nadelhoffer
  22-Oct Wed Trophic Links: Predation and Parasitism Nadelhoffer
  24-Oct Fri Competition for Resources Nadelhoffer
Lab 20-24 Oct   Group Project Work  
9 27-Oct Mon
Diversity over Space and Time
Nadelhoffer
  29-Oct Wed
Ecosystems
Kling
  31-Oct Fri
Microbes: Transformers of Matter and Materials
Kling
Lab 27-31 Oct   Ecological Footprint Activity and Assignment  
10 3-Nov Mon
The Flow of Energy – Primary Production and Higher Trophic Levels
Kling
  5-Nov Wed
Sustainability and the Global Carbon Cycle
Kling
  7-Nov Fri
Climate Change in the Great Lakes Region
Kling
Lab 3-7 Nov  
The Global Carbon Cycle
 
11 10-Nov Mon HOURLY EXAM #2 (material through 7 Nov) Nadelhoffer/Kling
  12-Nov Wed Pollutants, Acid Rain, and Systems Thinking Kling
  14-Nov Fri
The Tropical Rain Forest
Kling
Lab 10-14 Nov  
Group Project Work
 
12 17-Nov Mon
The Impacts of Climate Change on the Water Cycle
Gleason
  19-Nov Wed
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sealevel
Gleason
  21-Nov Fri
The Impacts of Climate Change on Sustainability
Gleason
Lab 17-21 Nov  
Climate and Atmosphere - Long-term Climate Regulation
 
13 24-Nov Mon
Using Science to Solve Problems: The Case of the Killer Lakes of Cameroon
Kling
  26-Nov Wed No Class  
  28-Nov Fri Thanksgiving Break (No Classes from 26-28 Nov)  
Lab 24-28 Nov  
Thanksgiving break, No Labs Meet 
 
14 1-Dec Mon
The Value of Nature's Services
Nadelhoffer
  3-Dec Wed
The Anthropocene:  A Transformed Earth
Nadelhoffer
  5-Dec Fri
Human Ecology (Self Test Link)
Nadelhoffer
Lab 1-5 Dec   Student Presentations - rooms TBA  
15 8-Dec Mon The Ecological Footprint of Food and Agriculture Nadelhoffer
  10-Dec Wed Final Class Summary - Shifting Paradigms? Course evaluations  All
 
  18-Dec Thu FINAL EXAM 10:30-12:30 (cumulative)  
 
Last updated:
11.30.14